Week 3: 17/03/16

This week we looked into the RAT model which is used in Assignment 1. My first thoughts when I heard about this model was what does it actually stand for and what is it actually used for within ICT and Pedagogy?? I soon discovered that the RAT model stands for (Replacement, Amplication, Transromation) which refers to the tools teachers use to identify the use of ICT and Pedagogy within their lessons. I found this particular link really helpful in providing me with a more insightful understanding of what each component does. Although, while scrolling through my WordPress reader I came across Ashley’s blog on ‘RAT Assessment Tool’ which actually refers to an app which you can download. This particular app identifies each component within the model based on your chosen lesson plan. I was so intrigued by this app I just had to check it out as it might be useful for Assignment 1. For those of you who would like to download this app here is the link.


McHugh, S. (2014). The RAT, SAMr, Transformative Technology, & Occam’s razor. (Image). Retrieved March 17, 2015, from http://doverdlc.blogspot.com.au/2013/06/the-rat-samr-transformative-technology.html

One thought on “Week 3: 17/03/16

Leave a Reply

